UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread

Old 9th Mar 2018, 5:07 pm   #1
monaro0162
Pentode

Default SONY VO-2630 U-matic Video Cassette Recorder

I have just acquired this Sony VO-2630 U-Matic video cassette recorder from the ‘70’s I believe.

For a couple of years I’ve been having fun restoring audio reel-to-reel recorders as part of a project of mine to re-create the exact hi-fi system that my Dad had in the ‘70’s, a system that I enjoyed a lot and probably used it more than my Dad did. That re-creation is pretty much complete now.

For some time I’ve been thinking about getting a reel-to-reel video as a way of progressing the hobby into Video. I work in the electronics industry as a manufacturing engineer but I have no experience in video other than using VHS as a consumer up until around the year 2000.

Finding a suitable Sony or AKAI VTR proved difficult as they were rare in the day, and even rarer now, and those in working condition seem very expensive.
So this appeared on a certain website, and it seemed rude not to put a bid in. I got it for the price of a couple of rounds of drinks at the pub, and it’s now sitting on my desk. I believe that it was the first video cassette recorder aimed at the domestic market. So this a nice example of a milestone to go in my collection. I was surprised to find that it is stereo, runs a 3.75ips I believe. It’s a huge beast, very heavy and built like a tank.