UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th Jun 2009, 11:00 am   #1
'LIVEWIRE?'
Dekatron
 
'LIVEWIRE?''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: N.W. Oxfordshire(Chipping Norton)
Posts: 7,034
Question Telefunken Mains Transformer rewind needed

The Mains Transformer in a Telefunken Jubilate Radio I have been asked to repair has burnt due to failure of the associated selenium rectifier, and I don't have the means to rewind it. Is any forum member prepared to do this for me, and what would be the likely cost? The bobbin will need completely stripping & rebuilding, with a primary of 0-110-125-220-240v, HT secondary 175vac @ 100mA(full wave bridge rectification to produce ca 250vDC @ 60mA), LT 6.3v @ 2.5A -the original was fused @4A.
I can post apicture of the transformer on here maybe tomorrow if that helps
'LIVEWIRE?' is offline  
Old 28th Jun 2009, 12:12 pm   #2
yestertech
Octode
 
yestertech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Coulsdon, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Telefunken Mains Transformer rewind needed

I have listed here a "mains transformer for 50's telefunken set "
Not sure what it came from but the part number I have noted as
41 5112.50-09.7 - Is yours numbered with anything like this ?

Andy
yestertech is offline  
Old 28th Jun 2009, 3:07 pm   #3
'LIVEWIRE?'
Dekatron
 
'LIVEWIRE?''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: N.W. Oxfordshire(Chipping Norton)
Posts: 7,034
Default Re: Telefunken Mains Transformer rewind needed

Andy,
Do you have a picture of your Telefunken Transformer? The one to which I refer is in my workshop abt. 3/4 mile from here, and I don't have a note of any number(s) on it.
'LIVEWIRE?' is offline  
Old 29th Jun 2009, 3:52 pm   #4
yestertech
Octode
 
yestertech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Coulsdon, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Telefunken Mains Transformer rewind needed

The telefunken TXF has gone AWOL at the moment ( ! )
I did howver find these two Grundig specimens.
They're both fairly similar, one is marked "GRUNDIG 2068" so from a similar era with similar spec. at least. Not sure about the suitability of the casing/presentation though !

Andy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mains trannies.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	81.9 KB
ID:	26810  
yestertech is offline  
Old 29th Jun 2009, 4:21 pm   #5
AlanBeckett
Octode
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Burton upon Trent, East Staffordshire, UK.
Posts: 1,686
Default Re: Telefunken Mains Transformer rewind needed

Andy,
I see that your 'storage facility' is at much the same temperature and humidity as mine
Alan
AlanBeckett is offline  
Old 29th Jun 2009, 10:19 pm   #6
'LIVEWIRE?'
Dekatron
 
'LIVEWIRE?''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: N.W. Oxfordshire(Chipping Norton)
Posts: 7,034
Default Re: Telefunken Mains Transformer rewind needed

Evening, Andy,
Any numbers that were on the transformer in the Telefunken 1261 'Jubilate' vanished when it overheated & burnt out, but I attach a couple of pictures which may help. The first is the radio in question. The size of the Tx, which is fairly critical, is 71 x 51 x 60mm, and it mounts vertically on the end of the chassis. If either of those Grundig xfmrs is similar in size, current & voltage ratings, then it should do the job. Let me know what price you are asking, including carriage.
Regards from
Michael
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0019.JPG
Views:	146
Size:	20.4 KB
ID:	26833   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0018.JPG
Views:	128
Size:	17.4 KB
ID:	26834   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0023.JPG
Views:	107
Size:	14.6 KB
ID:	26835  
'LIVEWIRE?' is offline  
Old 29th Jun 2009, 10:28 pm   #7
yestertech
Octode
 
yestertech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Coulsdon, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Telefunken Mains Transformer rewind needed

I'll recheck the dimensions. Sadly the pics are way too small to see anything ! Perhaps you could post some large ones, or email the full size version to the address which I will PM you.

Interesting note Alan, ref the "storage facility" it took me a while to twig !
The workshop is 'indoors' and is usually warm and dry. However, I suspect dampness on something else imported into the same box is to blame or they were like that ex-radio ( they were scrapped sets after all )

I'll also check the voltages are OK

Andy
yestertech is offline  
Old 29th Jun 2009, 10:46 pm   #8
'LIVEWIRE?'
Dekatron
 
'LIVEWIRE?''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: N.W. Oxfordshire(Chipping Norton)
Posts: 7,034
Default Re: Telefunken Mains Transformer rewind needed

Cheers, Andy.
I reduced the size of the pictures to (a) save storage space, and (b) comply with the restrictions of the attachments system used on this forum, but can no doubt send larger versions. Incidentally I don't know how to include the means where, by placing the cursor over the image produces a + sign, thereby allowing the viewer to magnify the image
Perhaps someone can enlighten me
'LIVEWIRE?' is offline  
Old 29th Jun 2009, 11:03 pm   #9
Station X
Moderator
 
Station X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4, UK.
Posts: 15,188
Default Re: Telefunken Mains Transformer rewind needed

What you need to do is take the original image from your digital camera, crop it if necessary and then reduce FILE size without reducing PICTURE size too much. It looks like you've reduced Picture size which has resulted in small files of 15 to 20K.

I use HP Photosmart Premier which came with my digital camera to do this, but there are plenty of other software packages which will do the job.
__________________
Graham. Forum Moderator

Keep the soldering iron hot.
Station X is offline  
Old 30th Jun 2009, 10:21 am   #10
'LIVEWIRE?'
Dekatron
 
'LIVEWIRE?''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: N.W. Oxfordshire(Chipping Norton)
Posts: 7,034
Default Re: Telefunken Mains Transformer rewind needed

Graham, you're right-I used the 'Resize Pictures' option that's part of the program installed on this computer. My 'Digimovin' 8 Digital Camera has 3 sizes of Resolution(3264 x 2448 pixels, 2000 x 1000, amd 1000 x 750) Normally I use the medium size, but was using the small size when taking shots of the burnt Transformer. Additionally the camera has a fixed focus lens (4'9"-Infinity), which doesn't help in some cases
'LIVEWIRE?' is offline  
Old 30th Jun 2009, 10:34 am   #11
Colin
Heptode
 
Colin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 655
Default Re: Telefunken Mains Transformer rewind needed

Michael, try this:

http://www.axiomx.com/picsizer.htm

It's freeware and really quite easy to use. Works a treat for single or batch resizing.

Colin
__________________
Colin Armstrong
Colin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 2:34 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.