UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 28th Nov 2015, 10:09 pm   #1
poppydog
Banned

Default Grundig Concert Boy 1100

I am hoping someone can help walk me through a problem I am having (I am a complete novice).
I have a concert boy 1100 that doesn't work at all. I took the back off, got 240volts AC going into the transformer, got no voltage out. I changed the 400mh fuse, I haven't got a new 400mh fuse so replaced it with a 2 amp fuse. I plugged it in but haven't switched the radio on. I have now got 15 volts dc coming out of the other side of the transformer going in to the main unit (the red and blue wires - please see picture). I am worried about pressing the on/off button on the radio as I thought the transformer would be kicking out 9 volts and not 15 volts and also if there is a problem will the 2 amp fuse blow in time so as not to ruin anything else? Please help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	100_4510.jpg
Views:	461
Size:	116.3 KB
ID:	116184   Click image for larger version

Name:	100_4511.jpg
Views:	426
Size:	89.7 KB
ID:	116185  
Old 28th Nov 2015, 11:02 pm   #2
michamoo
Hexode

Default Re: Grundig Concert Boy 1100

You really should replace with the correct rated fuse as soon as possible to prevent damage to the set. You will be seeing a higher voltage as without the radio switched on there is no load on the transformer
Old 28th Nov 2015, 11:08 pm   #3
poppydog
Banned

OK, thank you very much. I might be back to ask more questions later!!
Old 28th Nov 2015, 11:20 pm   #4
poppydog
Banned