UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29th Jul 2018, 11:35 am   #1
NickG0HIK
Pentode
 
NickG0HIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ireleth-in-Furness, Cumbria, UK.
Posts: 164
Default Hacker Herald RP37A repair

I attended the Cumbria Steam Gathering yesterday, of course the first part of the site to visit is the jumble.
A dealer had a couple of Hackers that I just could not refuse at 5 each, I didn't even try to haggle.
One was a Helmsman, which works on all bands except SW 2 & 3, but that is another story, as it is in need of some TLC
I've started on the Herald firstly.
First of all just a simple cosmetic clean, some switch cleaner and lube the aerial.
I replaced one of the damaged battery connectors and powered it up then on the shop PSU.
Working, but distorted audio at 18v and about 200mA being drawn.
I set about setting up as per the manual, but no joy, I found that T1 BC148 faulty, so replaced this. Still the same fault, inspection of RV3 47k trimmer had the rivet missing on one of the terminals, this was replaced and could now get more sensible voltage readings around T1.
But the amp was drawing way too much current adjusting RV4 I still had around 50mA drawn quiescent at minimum setting and a lot of noise.
I went for the freezer spray, but found the can to be empty so started pushing a hot iron on to components, eventually found what appears to be the culprit, T3 OC71, I've not got one of these (Can anyone let me know the best use in it's place) I've put in a AC128 in for now. The noise has improved, but still have about 40mA draw and the RV4 still not working correctly.

So for now, I've boxed it back up as it's sort of working and will do a more though restoration in the future.

One of the tone control knobs has a broken centre, is there any wisdom as to how repair this, maybe fill with modellers clay, then push in a shaft and let it set.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180729_110921.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	43.5 KB
ID:	166717   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180729_110850.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	166718  

Last edited by NickG0HIK; 29th Jul 2018 at 11:52 am.
NickG0HIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2018, 11:56 am   #2
Herald1360
Dekatron
 
Herald1360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leominster, Herefordshire, UK.
Posts: 12,325
Default Re: Hacker Herald RP37A repair

I expect Mr. Hennessy will be along soon.......

Otherwise, if you fancy a bomb proof upgrade, here's what I did:

https://vintage-radio.net/forum/showthread.php?t=54342

You may well have a whiskery output transistor or leaky capacitor somewhere- you've sorted the dodgy pots. T3 does thermal compensation for the output stage- pretty much any small signal Ge PNP will do.
__________________
....__________
....|____||__|__\_____
.=.| _---\__|__|_---_|.
.........O..Chris....O
Herald1360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2018, 12:12 pm   #3
NickG0HIK
Pentode
 
NickG0HIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ireleth-in-Furness, Cumbria, UK.
Posts: 164
Default Re: Hacker Herald RP37A repair

Thanks for the info, if it keeps raining today, I may have another go at the set later in the day.
I'd never have thought about the Polystyrene cap being a fault in yours, but I have had these faulty myself in the past.
I'll check that and the output transistors too.
NickG0HIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2018, 12:44 pm   #4
Radio Wrangler
Dekatron
 
Radio Wrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Fife, Scotland, UK.
Posts: 10,737
Default Re: Hacker Herald RP37A repair

Thanks, Chris, I've got an AM herald and a Sovereign 2 to do shortly. The cosmetics are done on the Herald, I just have to make it speak again.

For the broken knob, I'd turn down a metal knob, or a brass insert and araldite it in.

David
__________________
Can't afford the volcanic island yet, but the plans for my monorail and the goons' uniforms are done
Radio Wrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2018, 1:22 pm   #5
paulsherwin
Moderator
 
paulsherwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 16,949
Default Re: Hacker Herald RP37A repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herald1360 View Post
T3 does thermal compensation for the output stage- pretty much any small signal Ge PNP will do.
Agreed, this isn't a critical component and any spare small signal Ge transistor should be OK. An AC128 will be as good as anything else, so you might as well leave it in place unless you're trying to conserve your AC128s.

I see you've found another bad Lockfit. Rip 'em out I say! They're little ticking time bombs
paulsherwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2018, 3:16 pm   #6
NickG0HIK
Pentode
 
NickG0HIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ireleth-in-Furness, Cumbria, UK.
Posts: 164
Default Re: Hacker Herald RP37A repair

AC128's and BC148's are two types of transistor that I seem to have plenty of in my stores
NickG0HIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2018, 3:21 pm   #7
NickG0HIK
Pentode
 
NickG0HIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ireleth-in-Furness, Cumbria, UK.
Posts: 164
Default Re: Hacker Herald RP37A repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radio Wrangler View Post
For the broken knob, I'd turn down a metal knob, or a brass insert and araldite it in.
Thanks I like it, I'll see if my friendly model maker will help again.
NickG0HIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2018, 3:24 pm   #8
paulsherwin
Moderator
 
paulsherwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 16,949
Default Re: Hacker Herald RP37A repair

I wouldn't use NOS Lockfits for anything. Remember a BC108/BC548 is exactly the same as a BC148 and will drop straight in. In fact any Si NPN general purpose type is likely to be fine.

I wasn't joking about ripping them out. I see so many failed Lockfits nowadays that they have become a change on sight item. They are normally cheap and easy to replace.
paulsherwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2018, 4:25 pm   #9
NickG0HIK
Pentode
 
NickG0HIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ireleth-in-Furness, Cumbria, UK.
Posts: 164
Default Re: Hacker Herald RP37A repair

Ok Thanks for the information, all noted.
NickG0HIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2018, 4:27 pm   #10
NickG0HIK
Pentode
 
NickG0HIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ireleth-in-Furness, Cumbria, UK.
Posts: 164
Default Re: Hacker Herald RP37A repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radio Wrangler View Post
For the broken knob, I'd turn down a metal knob, or a brass insert and araldite it in.
Great, I've just used the Dremmel to cut out the insert from another knob from my junk box and as you said, I Areldited it.
A nice repair that only took a few minutes to complete.
NickG0HIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2018, 5:34 pm   #11
john.north
Pentode
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Immingham, North East Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 156
Default Re: Hacker Herald RP37A repair

Hello,
40mA is still too much. You may have a leaky electrolytic.
Can the quiescent current be set correctly at the link or is it too high?
If not then the likely candidates are the output pair.
Can the midpoint be set correctly with rv 3? If not then t4 is faulty.
AC 128 is ok for t3.
John.
Ps I have two knobs if you want them.

Last edited by john.north; 29th Jul 2018 at 5:35 pm. Reason: Control knobs
john.north is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2018, 8:17 pm   #12
mhennessy
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Evesham, Worcestershire, UK.
Posts: 3,334
Default Re: Hacker Herald RP37A repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herald1360 View Post
I expect Mr. Hennessy will be along soon.......
Fashionably late, as always

Good advice given so far. It might be worth checking T4, as that can cause strange faults.

It's possible the output devices are leaking - especially if they've been over-heated for some time. To test for this, temporarily short the two bases together. The quiescent current (via the test link) should drop to nothing in this state - if not, try replacing the output devices.

Good luck,

Mark
mhennessy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 4:40 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2018, Paul Stenning.