UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Amateur and Military Radio

Notices

Vintage Amateur and Military Radio Amateur/military receivers and transmitters, morse, and any other related vintage comms equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 21st Nov 2022, 1:49 pm   #1
thoyer454
Tetrode

Default AR88 Rewiring

I have heard that some AR88 had been rewired after a period of time way back when..... I have two, an AR88F and a CR88 that are basket cases (flood victims) and I'm going to "restore" them. Part of this process will involve replacing the disintegrating wiring harness. I'm very familiar with these radios and have the skills / test equipment / spare parts to do this task.

I've researched cloth covered wire but am unsure if this is the right way to go. I work in the aerospace industry and could use the MIL spec wire we use in our harnesses but that would not be "period correct".

So my question - when these radios were rewired back in the day, what kind of wire was used?

Tom
W3TA
Old 21st Nov 2022, 2:10 pm   #2
HamishBoxer
Dekatron

Default Re: AR88 Rewiring

As they are not rare, I would use the Mil spec wire,
Old 21st Nov 2022, 2:55 pm   #3
G6Tanuki
Dekatron

Yes, in the period after WWII quite a number of the AR88 receivers in Military service were rewired in PVC by various Services base workshops, so I would have no qualms about using similar current 'mil spec' wire for your rewiring.

My AR88 - one of the early ones - had crumbly cotton-covered wire when I bought it some 40 years ago. I rewired it using PVC covered wire salvaged from the wiring-loom of a crashed car.
Old 21st Nov 2022, 3:40 pm   #4
Radio Wrangler