UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 23rd Sep 2022, 2:56 pm   #1
StuGill
Diode

Default Good afternoon from a new poster

Good afternoon.

I am fairly new to old record players etc and have been searching the forum as a guest and then thought I would; register, say hello, explain the story and ask for any pointers.

After the passing of my mother-in-law in January, I helped my wife empty the loft and we found a Gec 2817 music centre, which has a Garrard 6-300 record player. It had been there for ages and didn't work, it isn't valuable but I took a shine to it.

An engineer local to me got it working, the turntable wouldn't work, issues with the radio etc. Watching him also gave me the confidence to dismantle parts of it and it worked well, and to me sounded good for a short while!

The time in the loft hadn't been kind and I think made the 'ears'? in the cartridge brittle, they stop the stylus from moving left and right and have broken.

The Cartridge is a Ceramic Sonotone 3549 and the stylus is a Diamond tipped Garrard KS41B.

Is there a viable alternative, or upgrade? I don't want to go down the road of a Magnetic cartridge.

Thanks in advance.

Stu
Old 23rd Sep 2022, 3:11 pm   #2
Radio Wrangler

Default Re: Good afternoon from a new poster

Hello and welcome!

You'll probably need a full cartridge, and that should come with a stylus. There can be a bit of creativity needed to arrange cartridge mounting for those that are still available into the headshell of the turntable. One of the regulars who have an interest in Garrard decks will no doubt be along shortly...