UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Other Discussions > Homebrew Equipment

Notices

Homebrew Equipment A place to show, design and discuss the weird and wonderful electronic creations from the hands of individual members.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd Feb 2022, 6:05 pm   #1
qtronix
Pentode
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Willenhall, West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 157
Default Reverse a DC motor at a set current

sorry if this is not allowed, but there are a lot of knowledgeable people on here.

i have got a paper shredder that i want to use for a project for expanding cardboard like this.

https://www.instructables.com/Cardbo...-Paper-Shredd/


the one i have is a big beast. is there an off the shelf circuit or controller for auto reverse current sense.
there are so many sensors on this thing i am not even going to try and mess about with them.
adam
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3693.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	57.7 KB
ID:	250989   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3694.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	75.3 KB
ID:	250990   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3695.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	108.0 KB
ID:	250991   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3692.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	92.0 KB
ID:	250992  
qtronix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2022, 9:02 am   #2
qtronix
Pentode
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Willenhall, West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 157
Default Re: Reverse a DC motor at a set current

found this on the bay, going to order one see what it can do. i could wire up the over current relay to reverse the motor. found out the board is 0-5amp over protection. so will have to mod it. just dont no about the start up current wil do.



https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/284578420....c100667.m2042
qtronix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2022, 9:33 am   #3
GMB
Nonode
 
GMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: near Reading (and sometimes Torquay)
Posts: 2,762
Default Re: Reverse a DC motor at a set current

I think I can say that most people are not familiar with this machine at all.

I would just comment that your thread talks of reversing a DC motor and yet it looks like an induction motor to me - going by the photos.
GMB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2022, 10:55 am   #4
Terry_VK5TM
Octode
 
Terry_VK5TM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tintinara, South Australia, Australia
Posts: 1,943
Default Re: Reverse a DC motor at a set current

We need pictures of the actual motor and if it is what I think it is , then that ebay module is not going to do the job.

One of your pic's shows a high voltage motor cap so I suspect the motor is 230V AC and already reversible using a switch.
__________________
Terry VK5TM
https://www.vk5tm.com/
Terry_VK5TM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2022, 12:11 pm   #5
Radio Wrangler
Moderator
 
Radio Wrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Fife, Scotland, UK.
Posts: 19,772
Default Re: Reverse a DC motor at a set current

If that is the rating label on the motor, then it says it is a 50Hz motor, whichis not DC.

Also, the white component is a typical motor-run capacitor used with single-phase AC induction motors.

To reverse a single phase induction motor, you first need a special motor with both ends of the start winding accessible separately from the main winding. You need a phase reversing switch for the start winding. You need a sequencer too stop the motor,let it come to rest (important!) reverse the phase of the start winding, and then restart the motor. If you don't let it come to rest, it'll start back up in the same direction as before.

David
__________________
Can't afford the volcanic island yet, but the plans for my monorail and the goons' uniforms are done
Radio Wrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2022, 7:11 pm   #6
qtronix
Pentode
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Willenhall, West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 157
Default Re: Reverse a DC motor at a set current

quick test. still have to finish making the box. might just leave it with an on and off switch.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-hch5MIbUs
qtronix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 9:38 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2021, Paul Stenning.