UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Closed Thread

Old 8th Jun 2018, 7:00 pm   #1
AN53808
Diode

Default 332L Excessive Sidetone Advice

I have a converted 332L Mk2A telephone, originally manufactured in 1956. The handset has a replacement electret 21A and the receiver looks to be the original type 2P with a diaphragm 25. I have been using it for about 4 years, but to me the level of sidetone is distractingly high. In all other aspects the 'phone is faultless. I've included a photo of the general wiring configuration. I've compared this to information contained in this forum and on other websites and all looks to be in order to me.

I was wondering if there is a problem with the ASTIC No. 27 and whether anyone can offer any advice on some voltage / impedance measurements I can make to begin to check the anti-sidetone circuitry.

Regards,

Andy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0642.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	58.6 KB
ID:	164265  
Old 9th Jun 2018, 10:40 pm   #2
russell_w_b
Dekatron

Default Re: 332L Excessive Sidetone Advice

Can you try a carbon mic No: 13 in it for comparison? What is the d.c. voltage on the mic terminals when the handset is off-rest? Are there any comments from those to whom you speak on this telephone about sound levels?

Russell W. B.
G4YLI.
Old 15th Jun 2018, 7:33 pm   #3
AN53808
Diode