UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th Feb 2019, 9:44 am   #1
pletevl
Triode
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Pont Saint Vincent, France.
Posts: 12
Default Replace STK4332 with more powerful one ?

Hi all,

In my man cave I have an old AMSTRAD TS-90 stereo, linear record deck, full logic cassette deck and all controllable via a 32 button remote controle.

As with most AMSTRAD stereos, it is high on features but very low on volume.

Inside, the amp IC is an STK4332 by SANYO, the datasheet says it gives out 5 watts per channel. AMSTRAD says 8 watts per channel.

Can I simply change this IC to a more powerful one, type STK4412 for example ? the datasheet says it's the same, uses the same external components and would only need more power to get more watts.

Any ideas ?

Thanks.

Pete.
pletevl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2019, 9:50 am   #2
Nuvistor
Dekatron
 
Nuvistor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wigan, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 6,443
Default Re: Replace STK4332 with more powerful one ?

5 watts into many speakers would fill most domestic rooms, are the speakers you are using very insensitive, or is there another fault with the unit?
__________________
Frank
Nuvistor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2019, 10:13 am   #3
pletevl
Triode
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Pont Saint Vincent, France.
Posts: 12
Default Re: Replace STK4332 with more powerful one ?

Everything is fine, I just want more watts.
pletevl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2019, 10:21 am   #4
Nuvistor
Dekatron
 
Nuvistor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wigan, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 6,443
Default Re: Replace STK4332 with more powerful one ?

If you change the IC can the power supply delivery the extra watts to drive the new chip? Sorry I cannot advise if it would be a simple swop of the IC.

The Amstrad is what it is, unless all the fancy features are important and you just want it louder perhaps replace the whole unit with something more suitable.
__________________
Frank
Nuvistor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2019, 10:25 am   #5
Radio Wrangler
Dekatron
 
Radio Wrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Fife, Scotland, UK.
Posts: 11,315
Default Re: Replace STK4332 with more powerful one ?

And the more powerful amplifier module will need a more powerful power supply, and more heatsinking. And you may find that the speakers can't handle much more

Amstrad pared everything down to the bare minimum on all the internal stuff.

If you look around you may be able to find something like a Denon/Sony/Technics mini system for less money than you'd pay for STK modules. The modules are known failure points and there is plenty of demand for working ones of all their sizes, so you can guess that they don't come cheap.

David

Crossposted with Nuvistor..... at least we agree!
__________________
Can't afford the volcanic island yet, but the plans for my monorail and the goons' uniforms are done
Radio Wrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2019, 10:50 am   #6
pletevl
Triode
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Pont Saint Vincent, France.
Posts: 12
Default Re: Replace STK4332 with more powerful one ?

I know about the powersupply and the heatsink.

The Ic comes in at around 10 dollars.

I have JM LAB / FOCAL speakers connected to it.

I would just like to know if it can be done.
pletevl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2019, 10:51 am   #7
Lloyd 1985
Octode
 
Lloyd 1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coningsby, Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 1,460
Default Re: Replace STK4332 with more powerful one ?

If the Amstrad has some sort of audio output, then maybe buy an amplifier that has more power and plug the Amstrad into it, then you'll need to see if the speakers can handle the extra power, which if they are also Amstrad then they are probably a bit weedy as well!

Regards,
Lloyd.
Lloyd 1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2019, 10:57 am   #8
snowman_al
Pentode
 
snowman_al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Llandeilo, West Wales, UK.
Posts: 192
Default Re: Replace STK4332 with more powerful one ?

You will waste your money and time changing from the STK4332 to a 4412.

The STK4332 runs off 24 to 30 volts maximum voltage.
If you fit a 4412 straight in there the output power will be the same.
You have to increase the supply voltage to 45 - 50 volts to get any increase in power out. Not practical or sensible for the rest of the units functions...

Alan
__________________
Never Leave Well Enough Alone...
snowman_al is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 2:27 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2018, Paul Stenning.