UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Amateur and Military Radio

Notices

Vintage Amateur and Military Radio Amateur/military receivers and transmitters, morse, and any other related vintage comms equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th Apr 2019, 9:45 pm   #1
Radio Wrangler
Dekatron
 
Radio Wrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Fife, Scotland, UK.
Posts: 11,976
Default Trio TS700G.

Split from this thread:-

https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...d.php?t=155987


Quote:
Originally Posted by Victorzuluzulu
Hi.

I've sourced a suitable, old radio to tinker with and sure enough, it needs a good tinkering.

Its a Trio TS700G formerly owned by SK G4HCL, a callsign I'm sure many of you will know.

I'd like to start with a set of manuals for it and if anyone can help me with this, I shall be most grateful.

It's got stability issues and on TX it drops from between 5 and 10 on keying on FM and CW down to 0W over about 10 seconds. This varies and sometimes it will output an FM carrier for 20 or so seconds before collapsing to 0 over a few seconds.

Anyway, that's the radio.

Cheers, Alan
Does it have one of the Mitsubishi power amp modules?

They can crack their ceramic substrate inside the plastic cover and the fractured tracks and spiral inductors often make contact when cold, making the power drop when hot.

Oh, and welcome!

David GM4ZNX
__________________
Can't afford the volcanic island yet, but the plans for my monorail and the goons' uniforms are done
Radio Wrangler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2019, 7:55 am   #2
Victorzuluzulu
Triode
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Thirsk, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 15
Default Re: Trio TS700G

Hi, I can't see anything fitting the description. What area of the radio would I look for that?
I ought to explain that I'm new to the electronics hobby. I'm currently studying towards my full amateur license which is one of the reasons I wanted to fix up an old radio and thus, I have a basic understanding but this is all very new and heavy stuff for me.

At the moment I'm struggling to find the second relay of 2!

Cheers
2E0VZZ
Victorzuluzulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2019, 8:38 am   #3
dodgy-dxer
Hexode
 
dodgy-dxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newmarket, Suffolk, UK.
Posts: 284
Default Re: Trio TS700G

TS700 (no letter)

http://www.rigpix.com/kenwood/ts700_manual.pdf

TS700A (US model) probably quite similar?

http://www.repeater-builder.com/kenw...700-op-man.pdf

Service manual

http://www.k9rod.net/TS-700-SM.pdf

Previous thread with some offers of manual copies (and one dead link on post 18)

https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...ad.php?t=29922

73 Fred
G4BWP
dodgy-dxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2019, 9:44 am   #4
Victorzuluzulu
Triode
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Thirsk, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 15
Default Re: Trio TS700G

Hi Fred, Greatly appreciate your time and efforts there, thanks.
All printed out and the fun is ongoing.
I've discovered they used a technique in the olden days of wrapping wires around pins. This is going to cause me problems as a lot of them have since been soldered over, presumably to improve the integrity of the connection.

I'm thinking I may do well to cut all the wires in the middle of the runs and fit some form of micro bullet connectors so the boards are removable now and in the future. I bet I'm not the first to do this...

Lots to learn here.
73's
2E0VZZ

Last edited by Victorzuluzulu; 26th Apr 2019 at 9:53 am.
Victorzuluzulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2019, 9:56 am   #5
Herald1360
Dekatron
 
Herald1360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leominster, Herefordshire, UK.
Posts: 13,158
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

They'll likely have been soldered 'cos they've been off before. Wirewrap joints per se are pretty reliable, first time round

I'd be wary of adding connectors in any signal carrying lines, though if there's room and the spacing fits maybe replace the pins with a suitable header and terminate the lines with a matching connector. Gold plated if you can find/afford.
__________________
....__________
....|____||__|__\_____
.=.| _---\__|__|_---_|.
.........O..Chris....O
Herald1360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2019, 10:01 am   #6
Victorzuluzulu
Triode
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Thirsk, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 15
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

I wonder what this addition is, it connects on one side of the resistor to a pin on the repeater mode selector, the other side goes to a pin on the HET unit. Ive googled ASTRALUX and the text on the can but found noting.

Ive not dug any deeper yet to see exactly where the wires are going but I wonder if it would be sensible to remove this addition first prior to working through the rest of the radio.

Opinions gratefully received on removing it first and what it is?

Cheers
2E0VZZ
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5739.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	181876  
Victorzuluzulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2019, 10:05 am   #7
Victorzuluzulu
Triode
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Thirsk, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 15
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herald1360 View Post
They'll likely have been soldered 'cos they've been off before. Wirewrap joints per se are pretty reliable, first time round

I'd be wary of adding connectors in any signal carrying lines, though if there's room and the spacing fits maybe replace the pins with a suitable header and terminate the lines with a matching connector. Gold plated if you can find/afford.
Thanks for that. A good idea with the headers. The pins are long with up to 3 wire wrap joints on some. Ill have a look at the options but I think a removable solution is probably the way to go.

Cheers
2E0VZZ
Victorzuluzulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2019, 10:16 am   #8
HamishBoxer
Dekatron
 
HamishBoxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: W.Butterwick, near Doncaster UK.
Posts: 6,599
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

Looks like a filter?I was going to say RF pre amp as they can sometimes help these sets ,though I think looking I am wrong.
Great rig,I have the same model I bought new years ago.Needing to put up my Diamond vertical at present.

Welcome to our excellent group!
__________________
G8JET BVWS Member and V.M.A.R.S
HamishBoxer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2019, 11:21 am   #9
Victorzuluzulu
Triode
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Thirsk, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 15
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

Thanks for the warm welcome, Im very pleased to have made contact with an owner of the same radio. We may be able to assist each other in time.

I also think it is a filter after looking at other filters but I don't know why it is there.

Ive had a few QSO's through this rig already but its performance deteriorates rather quickly. when its working, the audio both ways is fine, when it warms up, it deteriorates dramatically. A slap will sometimes bring it back but not always. I also had the issue of the output power dropping to zero gradually on TX. This was partially cured by taking the big relay out and cleaning the contacts but it still does it sometimes. Im searching out the other relay but haven't found it yet!

I use a Diamond X50 at home, at just 30M ASL I can access 7 analogue repeaters (70cm included) and can work right down into South Yorkshire. I also use a 5 element Yagi on a clark mast on SSB and have made it to Montrose in Angus from Thirsk on 10W so I hope to be able to do the same with the 700G

Cheers
2E0VZZ
Victorzuluzulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2019, 11:27 am   #10
HamishBoxer
Dekatron
 
HamishBoxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: W.Butterwick, near Doncaster UK.
Posts: 6,599
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

Not been in mine apart from fit a homebrew RF pre amp again many years ago.The relay could be hidden under a panel somewhere.
Tapping other than Relays being intermittent very often is the infamous dry joints.
__________________
G8JET BVWS Member and V.M.A.R.S
HamishBoxer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2019, 1:27 pm   #11
Radio Wrangler
Dekatron
 
Radio Wrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Fife, Scotland, UK.
Posts: 11,976
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

Ah, good, it doesn't have a module in the RF power amp, it's good old discrete transistors.

I suspect you're on a hunt for a bad soldered joint on a board or else an iffy component. A can of freezer spray may have a part to play in your future!

David
__________________
Can't afford the volcanic island yet, but the plans for my monorail and the goons' uniforms are done
Radio Wrangler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2019, 1:58 pm   #12
Restoration73
Octode
 
Restoration73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Surbiton, SW London, UK.
Posts: 1,618
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

A common fault is low Tx power caused by failure of the DC-DC converter used to
generate 21 volts dc for the rf power amplifier.

I found this useful;
http://www.radiomods.co.nz/kenwood/kenwoodts700.html
Restoration73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2019, 4:11 pm   #13
Nickthedentist
Dekatron
 
Nickthedentist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford, UK.
Posts: 14,185
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

The Astralux component on the Veroboard may well be a RELAY.
Nickthedentist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Apr 2019, 1:20 pm   #14
Victorzuluzulu
Triode
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Thirsk, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 15
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

An update.
Ive spent a few hours so far on this and yesterday I had a cracking series of QSO's through it. So much so that I was beginning to think it was fixed.
The antenna changeover relay is a metal box and appears to be working well.

Then, after switching off and back on I have nothing at all in TX and RX. Its deaf and mute.

Where would you look?

Cheers
2E0VZZ
Victorzuluzulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Apr 2019, 8:55 pm   #15
Victorzuluzulu
Triode
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Thirsk, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 15
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

It's the power supply, only 3 volts out where I need 9 and 14 out where I need 20
That explains a lot of the issues I was having before it failed.

2E0VZZ
Victorzuluzulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2019, 7:31 am   #16
Victorzuluzulu
Triode
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Thirsk, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 15
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

Now repaired with and I used the radio in the UKAC 2m contest this week.
Works a treat.
2E0VZZ
Victorzuluzulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2019, 8:13 am   #17
HamishBoxer
Dekatron
 
HamishBoxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: W.Butterwick, near Doncaster UK.
Posts: 6,599
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

What was the cure?
__________________
G8JET BVWS Member and V.M.A.R.S
HamishBoxer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2019, 8:22 am   #18
Victorzuluzulu
Triode
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Thirsk, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 15
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

Did a few things, most notably I enlisted the help of a ham that is also an electronics expert. He removed the old components that were causing the problems and installed fewer, modern bits in their place. Now works wonders.

I also removed the transformer which can be refitted later and made the PSU a plug in system for the future as its only getting older and will no doubt have to come out again in the future.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 08.12.52.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	102.3 KB
ID:	182874   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 08.18.42.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	63.5 KB
ID:	182875   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 08.19.59.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	103.3 KB
ID:	182876  
Victorzuluzulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2019, 11:10 am   #19
HamishBoxer
Dekatron
 
HamishBoxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: W.Butterwick, near Doncaster UK.
Posts: 6,599
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

Great job,hope mine keeps going when I get it back in regular use.
__________________
G8JET BVWS Member and V.M.A.R.S
HamishBoxer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2019, 4:03 pm   #20
Victorzuluzulu
Triode
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Thirsk, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 15
Default Re: Trio TS700G.

Thanks, I'm sure yours will last forever, this one has been my only radio for the last week or so as I'm testing it extensively. I've just received its next upgrade in the post. Ill fit this ASAP, its a CTCSS generator.

2E0VZZ
Victorzuluzulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 8:09 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.