UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Success Stories

Notices

Success Stories If you have successfully repaired or restored a piece of equipment, why not write up what you did and post details here. Particularly if it was interesting, unusual or challenging. PLEASE DO NOT POST REQUESTS FOR HELP HERE!

Closed Thread

Old 31st Aug 2008, 10:48 pm   #1
Phil G4SPZ
Dekatron

Default Goodmans SCD-100 cassette deck

Having been busy rebuilding my workshop since the end of June, I am now back 'up and running' and the first job I decided to tackle was my trusty old stereo cassette deck. I have owned this from new since I was a student in the mid-70s. The auto-stop function stopped functioning some time ago, but the last time I tried the machine out on playback, it erased part of a precious tape - so into the 'to do' pile it went, with a mental note that I might offer to give it away to someone on the Forum...

Anyway, the faults turned out to be wholly mechanical. The auto-stop function relies on a solenoid to pull the latching bar, and release the active key on the tape transport. On dismantling the machine I found a loose short piece of stiff, bent wire, which turned out to be the broken end off the solenoid pull-rod. A replacement was fashioned from a paperclip and secured to the remains of the pull-rod with the brass insert from a 5-amp choc-bloc connector.