UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 29th Nov 2021, 7:44 pm   #1
stevehertz
Dekatron

Default Long wire AM aerial - directional?

Regarding a long wire AM aerial for MW and LW reception, is it directional? If so in what way, eg is it better for it to be at 90 degrees to the transmitter? or what? Please keep it simple, I don't need a tutorial on long wire theory etc!

Thanks.
Old 29th Nov 2021, 7:47 pm   #2
paulsherwin

Default Re: Long wire AM aerial - directional?

I'm no expert, but I think they are only marginally directional.
Old 29th Nov 2021, 8:01 pm   #3
Scimitar
Heptode

A theoretical radiation pattern for a dipole would be a figure of eight, major lobes at right angles to the wire.

For a long wire, I would think that the major lobe would be away from the end of the wire.
Old 29th Nov 2021, 8:05 pm   #4
G6Tanuki
Dekatron

To be significantly-directional it needs to be a significant number of half-wavelengths long.

Most domestic-gardens do not have the space for "long wire" antennas. Google "Beveridge" and "Rhombic" antennas to see what the broadcast-guys used in times-past for significantly-directional MW/LW antennas.
Old 29th Nov 2021, 8:17 pm   #5
Boulevardier
Octode

But if it is long enough to be directional, then which direction - length of the wire "pointing to" the transmitter. or "broadside-on"? I've always assumed the former.

Mike
Old 29th Nov 2021, 8:23 pm   #6
stevehertz
Dekatron

Let me put it another way. I am 'here', and Sutton Coldfield transmitter is 'there'. Ideally, should my long wire aerial be in a straight line stretched out between us, or 'across' the signal path, at right angles to it?
Old 29th Nov 2021, 8:26 pm   #7
GrimJosef
Dekatron