UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc

Notices

Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc Standards converters, modulators anything else for providing signals to vintage televisions.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th Oct 2017, 9:54 am   #1
idlerbiker
Hexode
 
idlerbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 379
Default HDMI to 405

Has anyone managed to convert hdmi signals to 405?
Would be good to have a amazon firestick connected to a 405 tv
__________________
Mr. Projectionist
idlerbiker is offline  
Old 16th Oct 2017, 10:04 am   #2
peter_scott
Octode
 
peter_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edinburgh, UK.
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: HDMI to 405

If you can make the connection between your Firestick and VLC Player then you are home and dry.

See: http://www.nostalgiatech.co.uk/Baird%20240%20lines.htm

Peter
peter_scott is offline  
Old 16th Oct 2017, 9:48 pm   #3
winston_1
Pentode
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 214
Default Re: HDMI to 405

The easiest way is an HDMI to composite converter into an Auora.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb...d=369UWTTUL73U
winston_1 is offline  
Old 17th Oct 2017, 2:53 pm   #4
Voxophone
Hexode
 
Voxophone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 324
Default Re: HDMI to 405

I've used something like this and it does allow you to get an image on the screen. However, depending on the source material, you may find you have an aspect ratio problem or black bars at the sides of the picture.

Liam
Voxophone is offline  
Old 18th Oct 2017, 8:20 pm   #5
Panrock
Octode
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sedgeberrow, Worcestershire. UK.
Posts: 1,560
Default Re: HDMI to 405

Quote:
Originally Posted by winston_1 View Post
The easiest way is an HDMI to composite converter into an Auora.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb...d=369UWTTUL73U
Where it says it converts to 480i, doesn't this mean in effect 525-lines, so it's unsuitable for use with a standard Aurora?

Steve
Panrock is online now  
Old 19th Oct 2017, 7:52 am   #6
wd40addict
Heptode
 
wd40addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Stevenage, Herts. UK.
Posts: 576
Default Re: HDMI to 405

The full description says it also supports 576i. I have a similar unit from esynic which works fine.

See https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...d.php?t=110721
wd40addict is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 2:35 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2018, Paul Stenning.