UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum

UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/index.php)
-   Homebrew Equipment (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=99)
-   -   OK need assistance or clarification of output transformer values (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/showthread.php?t=165222)

AdrianH 30th Mar 2020 12:09 am

OK need assistance or clarification of output transformer values

I am new to actually making something with valves.

I am looking to make a simple audio amp from some 6021W valves and have found a few circuits to get me on my way. But I would like to work a few things out in my head better.

The valve is a sub miniature double triode (ECC70), now from the data ra is typically 6K5 Ohms per triode.
I intend to use two valves in push pull output, that is, the two triodes per valve in parallel acting as one valve. So I was initially thinking that the ra will be halved per valve to 3250 Ohms, but then thinking why, the anode voltage drop would be double if going through a single anode load, so perhaps the ra will stay at 6500Ohms, then I just get confused and head hurts. Probably over thinking it, just build it and see if it works!

Next question, I will be trying to get a Hammond 125B output transformer, the static anode current per triode will be around 6.5mA so 26mA typical in the transformer. and if I drive an 8 Ohm speaker think I would be using output pins 4&6 giving an input impedance of 12K8 Ohms end to end of the transformer.

Have I lost it completely or am I on the correct lines?

TIA

Adrian

I need to do something whilst on lock-down.

joebog1 30th Mar 2020 12:40 am

Re: OK need assistance or clarification of output transformer values

When you parallel two valves, be they triodes, tetrodes or pentodes the impedance will be divided by 2. So your first assumption is correct, it will become 3250 ohms Ra.