UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum

UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/index.php)
-   Vintage Radio (domestic) (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Tandberg Huldra 8 valve failure (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/showthread.php?t=132315)

roverp6 18th Dec 2016 3:24 am

Tandberg Huldra 8 valve failure

Hello, new to this forum. Just got a Huldra 8 shipped from Norway to me here in Canada. Changed the voltage selector to 110 and it worked perfectly. Had it running 10 minutes and saw the flash and smell, quickly turned off and found the "Electric Eye" EM87 had blown, and one fuse T160/250. If the valve EM87 does it kill the ability of the radio working, or is it just for tuning the radio? As you can tell, I have limited experience with these, although I have a large collection of Reel to Reel equipment and such. I see I can get the exact replacement EM87, or exact replacement 6HU6. Should I stay away from the Chinese made ones. Any help would be appreciated.

Clive

'LIVEWIRE?' 18th Dec 2016 9:24 am

Re: Tandberg Huldra 8 valve failure

The EM87 is purely a tuning indicator, so removing it will have no effect on reception, or on tuning, other than having to tune purely 'by ear'. I cannot comment on Chinese made Tuning indicator valves, having no experience of them. The fuse you mention may have blown simply because the EM87 failed, although I'm not familiar with the Tandberg Huldra, so it may be wise to check other components connected to the 'load' side of the fuse in question.

Radio Wrangler 18th Dec 2016 11:12 am

Magic eye tuning indicators just get progressively dimmer. Never heard of one 'blowing' before. Flash bang and smoke are surprising, unless it got cracked.

David

Cobaltblue 18th Dec 2016 11:22 am

Hi Clive it may just be your terminology but what does "blown" mean