UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum

UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/index.php)
-   Vintage Radio (domestic) (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Roberts R505 repair advice for a beginner (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/showthread.php?t=157014)

moomaloo 2nd Jun 2019 10:13 pm

Roberts R505 repair advice for a beginner

Good evening. I have been persuaded to try here for (substantial) help in repairing my trusty 505 rather than replacing it. I can just about handle a soldering iron but otherwise I'm totally new to this...

The only thing I can tell you is that, after several decades of service, all I get now is a loud and unchanging 'hum' when I turn it on. On all three bands and any position on the dial.

I've taken the board out and there is nothing obviously amiss to my unskilled eye. But it looks complicated in there..!

Any clues?

Thanks,

Tim

PWH 2nd Jun 2019 10:40 pm

Re: Roberts R505 repair advice for a beginner

Does it have the option of batteries? If you can try batteries and the hum goes and maybe it works,, the problem is in the power supply.

David G4EBT 3rd Jun 2019 9:01 am

2 Attachment(s)
First thing to do is to check the current being drawn by the set.

In a working set it should be about 10mA when on AM and 15mA on FM. Assuming that you're running the set from a PP9 9V battery, you can easily check the current by unclipping one of the battery connectors asnd putting a multimeter on the DC current range in series with the other battery connector and the battery. Set the meter on a high mA range to start with - say 250mA or whatever). The diagram below shows how to do this if you don't know. If more than say 20 mA is being drawn, switch the set off right away.