UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum

UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/index.php)
-   Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Player for both 3 3/4 and 7 1/2 i.p.s reels (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/showthread.php?t=169512)

jammiev 29th Jul 2020 3:02 pm

Player for both 3 3/4 and 7 1/2 i.p.s reels

Hi all,

I am very new to these reel players.

I wanted to know if there is a player which will play both 3 3/4 and 7 1/2 ips reels?

It's hard to find any information about this aspect?

Is there a list of players with the compatible ips speeds and sizes of reels?

Budget is £100.

Thanks

paulsherwin 29th Jul 2020 3:26 pm

Re: Player for both 3 3/4 and 7 1/2 i.p.s reels

Many domestic and semipro recorders will play these speeds. The basic models mostly ran at 3.75ips, but slightly more upmarket multispeed models normally had 3 speeds - 1.875, 3.75 and 7.5ips.

A more significant issue for you is the number of tracks. Domestic recorders are normally 2 or 4 track. A 4 track recorder will play a 2 track tape (with compromises), but a 2 track recorder won't play a 4 track tape.

Domestic machines could usually handle 7" reels, but some of the smaller/cheaper machines could only cope with 5.75" or 5" reels. A 7" reel will hold 1200' of standard play tape, which will last 60 minutes at 3.75ips or 30 minutes at 7.5ips. Larger 10.5" reels could be used on many semipro and pro recorders.

Before getting into tape recorders in a big way, you should make sure you appreciate the work involved. Even the basic ones are quite complex machines, and quite apart from electronic restoration there will be mechanical problems to sort out - lubrication, belts, idler wheels, clutches, brakes etc.

Edward Huggins 29th Jul 2020 3:31 pm