UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum

UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/index.php)
-   Homebrew Equipment (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=99)
-   -   Battery eliminator power supply (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/showthread.php?t=74051)

antcus 12th Sep 2011 11:12 pm

Battery eliminator power supply

I am in the process of building the power supply described on this site, but am getting confused about the polarity of the capacitors as shown in the pictorial. The capacitors have a band at one end, but they seem to be connected to the positive side even though the band usually indicated the negative side of a capacitor? Where am I getting confused?
I have been building and repairing radios since I was 9 years old, and cannot figure out what is confusing me in such a simple circuit.

Alistair D 12th Sep 2011 11:21 pm

Re: Battery eliminator power supply

Please post a picture of the caps. mny Philips axial caps of the 70s had a black band close to the +ve terminal.

Al

antcus 13th Sep 2011 8:50 pm

It is not a picture, just go to the "Things to make" section of this site and you will see a drawing with these lines showing. Just let me know if you have made out where my difficulty lies.

Yes i can imagine how you discovered the capacitor polarity....you were playing with popping fireworks were'nt you??

Amraduk 13th Sep 2011 9:14 pm

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by antcus (Post 464964)
It is not a picture, just go to the "Things to make" section of this site and you will see a drawing with these lines showing. Just let me know if you have made out where my difficulty lies.