UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum

UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/index.php)
-   Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Armstrong 626 problem at high volume. (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/showthread.php?t=157478)

jubilado 22nd Jun 2019 1:32 pm

Armstrong 626 problem at high volume.

2 Attachment(s)
Hi,
Firstly, I'm a newbie and know next to nothing about electronics.
As a younger person I owned an Armstrong 621 amp and wishing to relive my youth got hold of an old Armstrong 626 receiver. I have replaced the three large capacitors as they looked like they were leaking around the vent. I've also managed to get the power and tuner pilot lights working and have replace the headphone socket...
BUT When played at low volume everything seems to work OK but thigh volume the amplifier seems to "beat" producing "thudding" noises. On taking the cover off to see if anything obvious was happening the black component marked ERG glowed red(see photos) and I saw a spark in the same area.
Is this fixable or should I use bin this item and pay for a fully working model if I can find one?

Hoping for some guidance.

paulsherwin 22nd Jun 2019 1:56 pm

Re: Armstrong 626 high volume problems

That appears to be a resistor in the power supply.

Check your work carefully. Electrolytic capacitors are polarised and must be connected correctly, and make sure you haven't introduced a short circuit somewhere.

Given your lack of expertise, it may be an idea to pay a professional to look at this for you.

ekjdm14 22nd Jun 2019 2:19 pm

Firstly, everything is fixable & as the amp appears to function at lower volumes I'd suggest nothing is seriously amiss so certainly don't bin this one. At worst you could keep it as a source of spares if you came across another one at the right price.