UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum

UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/index.php)
-   Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Ferrograph Reel Expert Help Please! (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/showthread.php?t=138141)

Levente 13th Jul 2017 6:45 pm

Ferrograph Reel Expert Help Please!

I am new to this machine, and about to bring back to life. All checked and sounding really good so far, after 10 minutes of switching the unit on, no short or problem.

On this machine, there is push stop button switch which was fine until the moment that it was not responding, in fact, the button just stuck in a push position, not coming back at all.

With a screwdriver, I can push this back from underneath, but there is no spring mechanism. There is a thin plastic looking plate under the button going to the other side of the switch, moving loosely.

Is this broken completely, or this switch is a type of switch is like a realy...if there is enough power it works, but if not, then it doesn't.

I don't have the manual yet, but about to find this...but if any Ferro expert out there had similar experience, please share.

many Thanks!:thumbsup:

BillDWVA 14th Jul 2017 10:24 am

Re: Ferrograph Reel Expert Help Please!

Hi,
Can you please tell us which model/Series of Ferrograph that you need help with? From your description it sounds like you have a series 6 or earlier. Also a photograph or two showing the part or problem you are having will make it easier for us to help you.
Thanks,
Bill

Levente 14th Jul 2017 5:39 pm

4 Attachment(s)
Hi Bill,

Thanks a lot. It is believed to be a series 3 deck dated around 1957/8 ish half track mono.