UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum

UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/index.php)
-   Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Dansette Bermuda Question (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/showthread.php?t=165046)

FrankSinatra 23rd Mar 2020 1:27 pm

Dansette Bermuda Question

3 Attachment(s)
Hello all,

I received a Dansette Bermuda by courier last week I bought and have been pleased so far up to a point.

Since I ran a 78 on it, using correct stylus, the deck seems to be dropping out from the needle on occasion? Also seems a crackle that wasn't there initially when playing.

A hair's breadth nudge of deck on the right corner pushing slightly upwards and to the left corrects the full volume and maybe the crackle though hard to determine.

I'm a complete novice but feels like the deck isn't suspended properly, maybe moved in transit?

Photos attached,

Nuvistor 23rd Mar 2020 1:39 pm

Re: Dansette Bermuda Question

Possible bad connection on the cartridge or under the deck.
That cartridge appears to be a stereo one but with only one side connected. It could have connections that I can’t see in the photos though. It won’t be the fault but if only one channel is connected it needs sorting out when you have fixed the intermittent fault.

FrankSinatra 23rd Mar 2020 1:59 pm

1 Attachment(s)
Thanks for replying, see further photo, should these other two wires be connected?

ms660 23rd Mar 2020 2:21 pm

I wonder if the PU arm lifter pin is sticking.

Lawrence.

astro63 23rd Mar 2020 2:34 pm

Judging by the cabinet Rexine it looks like it's been restored-refurbished, if the seller sold to you as refurbished I'd be inclined to contact them first before you start pulling the player about to get inside.

Station X 23rd Mar 2020 2:37 pm

Have both transit screws been screwed fully IN? I can only see one of them in the picture.