UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 31st May 2010, 10:18 pm   #1
simonbowns
Retired Dormant Member

Default Repairing a Teac A3340S

Hi all - I'm a newbie here, seems a decent resource, hopefully someone can help?!

I've recently adopted a Teac A3340S, which is in need of work. I'm completely new to the world of reel-to-reel. Keen to get this machine working. I've DLed the service manual, can't find the users manual other than ebay/to pay for, so have ordered and waiting on that..

Here's a few questions then!

1) Is this a machine worth restoring?

2) Does anyone in the UK (ideally closer to Sheffield, I'd rather not send this Fedex!) offer restoration of Teac machines?

3) Sources of tape/adaptors/splicing bits/parts for a Teac?

4) Sources for reading (web or books) to bring me up to speed on tape machines?

5) Specific advice on problems - ideally i'd like to repair myself, but understand that this might be a job for someone with a bit more idea.

I've no tape/reels, so this is all without tape loaded.

- Reels turn in opposite directions!
- No difference in speed when choosing 7.5/15
- No difference in speed between FF/play

Thanks,
Simon
Old 1st Jun 2010, 12:33 am   #2
pcawthron
Retired Dormant Member

Default Re: Repairing a Teac A3340S

Simon,

Some brief thoughts:

1. Yes. I have an A-3440 which is not too different to your machine - I like it.

2. Pass.