UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 3rd May 2010, 2:47 pm   #1
torpointboy
Retired Dormant Member

Default Blaupunkt Frankfurt 1962

Hi Everyone, complete newbie here. I have just purchased a 1962 (I believe) Blaupunkt Frankfurt radio that was taken out of a 63 VW Splitscreen many years ago as the radio was working but unreliable.
Thing is thats all I got, it hasnt got the 6 Pin lead so I believe I cant test the sound...... Sorry if this is a simple question....where can i get one from so as i can plug it in to a speaker, and also where do I check to see if its 6/12v as I believe this model is selectable.

Regards
Old 3rd May 2010, 5:52 pm   #2
Leon Crampin
Octode

Default Re: Blaupunkt Frankfurt 1962

Have you got both halves of the radio? There is a separate power supply which has a flying lead carrying the multi pin connector. It also has the removable plugs to select 6/12V and +/- earth.

Leon.
Old 4th May 2010, 7:14 am   #3
torpointboy
Retired Dormant Member

Yes I do. The radio has One thick yellow wire coming from it (power), the antenna hole and 6 pin hole (everything else I presume). The power pack is connected by way of a lead.

Do I have to take the 'shell' of the radio off to switch over to 12v or is there an external 'switch' that I'm not seeing?

On the 6 (din) pin, is this an easy thing to source? Or have I got to travel road auto jumbles trying to spot one?

Love to get it fully functioning as it's out of a 1963 Splitscreen and that's exactly what I have, so would be going back in an original vehicle.
Old 4th May 2010, 8:38 am   #4
AlanBeckett
Rest in Peace