UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 31st Jul 2017, 12:52 pm   #1
sobell1980
Octode

Default Bush DAC90A repair.

Hi all
Well this is my first time at one of these Bush sets. I must say I was delighted to see how easy it is to work on and we'll it came apart. This set is completely unmolested and original which is always a relief to see.
I'm in the process of re capping the usual waxes. I've come to replace the mains smoothing cap and it is rated at 32+16 uF in a dual cap. This arrangement doesn't seem particularly easy to come by . Would it be be permissable to fit a 32+32uF dual cap? I can't think of any reasons why it wouldn't be ok? I've usually been lucky and sourced a like for like value. Next project ensues!
Many thanks
Dave
Old 31st Jul 2017, 1:04 pm   #2
kalee20
Dekatron

Default Re: Bush DAC90A repair.

Electrolytics like this are usually OK. May be a little leaky at first, but you can wake them up gently.

If there's no sign of leaking, significant bulging, or cracking of the rubber bung, it is very likely good for the next 60+ years.
Old 31st Jul 2017, 1:26 pm   #3
ukcol
Rest in Peace

I'll second that, the chances are the 32-16uf will be fine.

In general when changing the value of smoothing capacitors you have to be careful not to exceed the maximum value of reservoir capacitor permitted for the rectifier value used. This value will be stated in the valve's data.

The DAC90A uses the 32uF section for the reservoir so if you are very unlucky and need to replace it a 32-32uf will be fine.
Old 31st Jul 2017, 2:23 pm   #4
MurphyNut
Heptode