UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Closed Thread

Old 11th Jul 2017, 12:06 pm   #1
stevehertz
Dekatron

Default Dry solder wick anyone?

I have some solder wick that goes back to the days when I was a test engineer in 1984. Just recently, doing more work on PCBs, I once again began using it. I found it to be fairly ineffective as it didn't seem to 'suck up' solder from PCBs. Without really thinking about it too much, I put this down to it being old and maybe the flux had dried out and lost its effectiveness or something. In fact I found my trusty plunger solder sucker to do a much better job. However there were times when I thought that some good solder wick would be better, particularly when access was limited, so I bought some Servisol Soldamop from Maplin. Frankly, this stuff is no better than my 30 year old stuff. In use - just like the old stuff - you have to really press hard with the soldering iron to see any signs of solder being sucked into the braid. In fact mostly you see very little evidence of this happening. Examining the 'business' side of the braid afterwards it looks like the solder has stuck to it spasmodically in flat blobs without any spreading along the braid as it should do if it has enough flux on it. I reckon that both my rolls of solder wick do not have enough flux impregnated. Before our Test Department allowed us to buy in solder wick, we used to make our own by taking the braiding off coax wire and immersing it in a jar of flux for a minute or so then hanging it up from a paper clip to drip dry. That stuff worked a treat, it really sucked up solder from a PBC. And for that matter, I recall that co