UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Cabinet and Chassis Restoration and Refinishing

Notices

Cabinet and Chassis Restoration and Refinishing For help with cabinet or chassis restoration (non-electrical), please leave a message here.

Closed Thread

Old 21st Sep 2017, 10:53 pm   #1
Laneyloo
Retired Dormant Member

Default Bargain find Roberts Revival

Hello, I'm no professional but bought a Rambler at an auction, paying £15 for three radios and finding the Roberts the only one working. I was completely hooked!
I've been after a Roberts Revival, but seeing how much these are I couldn't bring myself to buy one. I really fancied the pink leather one in particular!
So I couldn't believe my luck dropping on this beauty at my local car boot yesterday haggled down from £10, to £8 to £6, finally he excepted £5!!! YES £5! But the leather covering is shot.
I really would love to cover it in oil cloth, but don't want to disturb the mechanism being a total novice. I'm wondering if there is a way of getting the Roberts metal emblem off easily without damage? And if it's easy enough to actually dismantle the radio inside without damaging it?
I've scraped the leather off the back to reveal the beige suede like fabric. I might do the rest the same ideas and HELP NEEDED
Please x newbie please be nice moo
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FB_IMG_1506016201699.jpg
Views:	453
Size:	76.5 KB
ID:	149758   Click image for larger version

Name:	orca-image-1506014448968.jpg_1506014449424.jpg
Views:	324
Size:	41.1 KB
ID:	149759   Click image for larger version

Name:	received_10214127645563658.jpg
Views:	321
Size:	56.9 KB
ID:	149760   Click image for larger version

Name:	received_10214127648163723.jpg
Views:	321
Size:	36.2 KB
ID:	149761