UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 19th Oct 2017, 1:18 pm   #1
electronic_93
Retired Dormant Member

Exclamation Problem with transformer or EZ80 - Telefunken D656W

Hi all!!! I'm new here, so I'm sorry for the way I'm gonna write my problem.

My great-grandfather has bought a vintage radio "Telefunken D656W" (since 1955) and this radio has moved into generations and now I own it! I'm a new graduate electronic and I like to work with these stuff. One day, my grandfather had realised that there was a problem with the radio and he put it at the warehouse. It has stayed there for years. Few days ago I've decided to try to fix it. I've searched on internet and on forums and after research, I've found that there was a problem with the filter capacitor! (cause there was hum on the speaker).

It was a two section 50uF filter capacitors (50uF + 50uF) and I've replaced it with two capacitors of 50uF each (same volts, etc.). Then the radio has started to work fine again!!! I was so happy for it. It was working for hours. Then, after few hours, I switched on the radio again and suddenly there was sprarks from somewhere in the chassis! I closed immediately the radio. I re-opened it and it was working fine again.

The next day, I switched on the radio, but only the flament lights were on. No sound, no hum, no anything. The tubes were getting power as I could see. I opened the chassis to check it and I've realised these:

1. When the EZ80 is fited and the radio is ON, after a few seconds the EZ80 sparks inside a few times and the transformer gets SO hot that it is smoking after a minute.
2. When the EZ80 is OUT but the other tubes are ON, the transformer is OK (cool enough).