UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment
Register FAQ Forum Rules Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th Apr 2012, 7:10 pm   #1
brunel
Hexode
 
brunel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LEEDS.......north of the River Aire.
Posts: 482
Default AVO 8 Mk.III A.C. voltage not functioning.

All other ranges are ok. It appears to be one of the switches on the AC switch cam/range switch.

On any of the voltage positions, I can see the leaf moving up, but not quite making contact with the leaf above, it is only a minute fraction out.

On any of the AC current ranges, the same switch moves slightly more and does make contact.

What is the correct and easiest way of solving this?
brunel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 7:16 pm   #2
pmmunro
Heptode
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dundee, UK.
Posts: 777
Default Re: AVO 8 Mk.III A.C. voltage not functioning.

If the switch leaves concerned are making on some ranges but not on others it could be worth checking that the face cam has not come slightly loose and turned on the end of the knob spindle.

PMM.
pmmunro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 7:21 pm   #3
brunel
Hexode
 
brunel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LEEDS.......north of the River Aire.
Posts: 482
Default Re: AVO 8 Mk.III A.C. voltage not functioning.

Thanks for the info. PMM.

Is it fairly easy to detect this problem?

And what do I do to fix it?
brunel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 10:04 pm   #4
brunel
Hexode
 
brunel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LEEDS.......north of the River Aire.
Posts: 482
Default Re: AVO 8 Mk.III A.C. voltage not functioning.

I checked the face cam, it was secure, I did tighten the securing screws another quarter turn.

One thing I did notice, the lobe that actuates the voltage switch appeared to be
lower than the lobe that actuates the current switch by approx 1mm.

I took what I believe to be the only course left, a slight adjustment of the lower leaf switch towards the face cam, only just enough room to grip it with a small pair of long nose pliers.

The switch now makes contact on all AC volt ranges, and this old AVO now reads correctly on AC volts.
brunel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 10:50 pm   #5
MrElectronicman
Hexode
 
MrElectronicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Washington DC, USA
Posts: 484
Default Re: AVO 8 Mk.III A.C. voltage not functioning.

I had exactly the same problem with my AVO, and I used the same technique.

If that have not worked I was prepared to remove the leaf switch, disassemble it and adjust the springs. Shades of the old GPO when I was a youth-in-training in the local telephone exchange.
__________________
David
MrElectronicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Apr 2012, 8:16 am   #6
pmmunro
Heptode
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dundee, UK.
Posts: 777
Default Re: AVO 8 Mk.III A.C. voltage not functioning.

As you will see from previous posts, it is very likely that the Avo leaf switches are directly related to PO 3000 style relay contacts.

Good to know another Avometer has been restored to full health.

PMM
pmmunro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:08 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at http://www.vintage-radio.net.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2014, S&P Technology.